Born to fight, Born to follow our dreams, Born To Run

Dear tramps,

Here I am, back again on the net! Trying to express a little bit of what I think, of what I feel, of what I live for: Bruce.

Once, Mark Twain said that there are two important days in a person’s life: the day when you are born and the day you find out why. Well, today is the day I was born and I want to talk about the second day, when I found out why.

Undeniably I can affirm that I was BORN TO RUN. What does that mean to me? Well, for me “Born to Run” is the perfect metaphor to express what I am. Let me start for the beginning: the song. Indisputably “Born to Run” is the soundtrack of my life; it contains energy, power, strength, fear, dreams, loss, braveness, courage and freedom. These are the things I need in my life. Born to Run showed me that everybody can dream and decide about their life, and that not everything has to happen immediately, but that the important thing is that you seek for it, that you don’t stop yourself and, step by step try to get closer to where you want to be. Cause “someday baby I don’t know when, we are gonna get to that place where we really wanna go, and we will walk in the sun, but till then tramps like us baby we were born to run”. Oh yes, born to fight, born to follow our dreams.

maxresdefault còpia.jpg

Let me focus now on the album, that perfect mix of 8 tracks that work unison to create an impeccable story: his story, my story, our story. From the begging, we receive an invitation in Thunder Road. The whole album is like an intense overview of what an endless summer night is. Throughout all the tracks we sing and cry about friendship, we learn about love and lust, and we go in depth into mystery, danger and eternity. 8 tracks that sum up all life essence, everything we need to know, everything we try to understand throughout our lives is exposed right there.

A documentary where I come back very often is the one Bruce released for Born to Run 30th anniversary: Wings for Wheels. Thanks to that documentary I learned a little bit more about why that album seemed so special and meaningful to me. It is fantastic. It teaches us how to dream, how to trade some wings on some wheels. What really left me shocked about it is the amount of time and dedication Bruce and the band put to record that album. Only to record the track Born To Run they spent nearly 6 months! That reflects how meticulous and careful Bruce is with his work. And that shows that all the wait was worthy as the track remains today more actual than ever, after 42 years of its release. He wrote endless versions of each song! Jungleland had a violin intro and born to run ended in choirs. But only one version could make it to the final record. Here Bruce teaches us that sometimes we have to renounce to some things so as to make way to others.

wings-for-wheels-the-making-of-born-to-run.20098.jpg

I find astonishing the courage Bruce had to have, as Born to Run was maybe his last opportunity to earn himself a name in the music industry. After 2 magnificent albums (but that were not best sellers), Bruce had to come back to the market with a blockbuster, something that would gather the public but that would maintain his essence. That had to be harsh. However, after all the inconvenient, he did it. He did his first tour overseas, he conquered the world with his music, and he designed a universal language that has the gift to talk directly to each one of our souls in a complete particular different way.

That’s why today I am saying that I was BORN TO RUN. Because, behind that album there’s a lot of work, a lot of dedication, a lot of dreams, a lot of fear, a lot of good intentions, a lot of necessity to be someone, in short; a lot of desire to live.

As Bruce himself said: “With born to run I left behind my adolescent definitions of Love and freedom. It was the dividing line”.

That sums it up pretty much all. With Born to Run I learned the rules of the game called live, I discovered which was my place and I found the melody that took me and carried me home.

Captura de pantalla 2017-07-25 a les 16.19.06.png

 

2 thoughts on “Born to fight, Born to follow our dreams, Born To Run

Leave a Reply

